Kong for kubernetes and backend applications integration clarification

This could be very basic question but please answer as I am new to kong.
I went through the kong for kubernetes documentation and basic lab trainings where there is no clear explanation given on whether kong will be deployed on the same k8s cluster where backend applications like microservices are deployed or kong will be deployed on completely new k8s cluster where only kong is deployed and no backend application is running.

Also, is there any labs or documentation which clearly explains about all the steps required to setup distributed and hybrid installation model on/for k8s.

Hi there, you can deploy Kong the same cluster with its own namespace (Kong)

Thanks. Does it mean that application services are already there and in the same way we need to deploy kong?
If yes then kong is tightly coupled with applications deployed on the same k8s. When application server goes down, kong also goes down. And more importantly how to differentiate CP and DP deployment

You will generally run Kong on the same cluster as your backend applications. You can point the controller to services running elsewhere using ExternalName Services, but that should only be used if there’s something that cannot run in the same cluster as the Kong instance.

charts/charts/kong at main · Kong/charts · GitHub covers the configuration needed to set up hybrid mode.

Thanks @traines and @Kuberzepam for your response.

So to setup Kong for k8s (db-less or db-backed), it is prerequisite that k8s cluster is already setup with necessary master and worker nodes.
And as per k8s feature, worker nodes serve the traffic and master node manages worker nodes, pods, etc.

Assume my k8s architecture contains 3 master and 3 worker nodes and my microservice applications are running on this architecture.
Now I want to add kong gateway in this architecture. My understanding is,

• Install kong on all 3 worker nodes.