New to Kong - want to know if API Gateway can work inside Kubernetes

Hi folks
I am new to Kong and have some basic architecture question. The context
We have a lot of REST API’s that are running in different Kubernetes clusters and some are running on EC2 as well as on-premise VM. I want to explore the usage of Kong API Gateway to centralize all API access. I am aware of API gateway node installations on VM, docker etc. I am trying to explore the usage of K8s as a place where my API Gateway will reside to get the High Availability out of K8s (Kubernetes). I am aware of Kong Ingress Controller providing the ingress traffic into K8s and that internally talking to API gateway components (not exposed to users)

Question 1:
Since most of my Rest API services are not going to be inside the K8s cluster where Kong resides, is deploying Kong in K8s a good approach?
Question 2:
Assuming that the answer to question 1 is “yes”, I see that the way Kong can interact with external services (which is going to be the case for me) is via K8s Service feature of ExternalName and the DNS route. Do I understand this correctly?
Question 3:
I actually do not need the Kong ingress controller just the API Gateway piece but most documentation speak of the two and also have examples of reaching services that reside inside the K8s cluster where the Kong components reside. Am I on the wrong track here architecture wise?