Kong for EKS: ELB has no instances

I’m brand new to Kong, which Ive installed Kong for EKS using the Helm chart. But the ELB that is created has no instances and, as a result, doesn’t route traffic; the Kong service doesn’t record an ingress IP.

The service looks good at a glance:

% kubectl get svc --namespace kong kong-1588254443-kong-proxy                                     
NAME                         TYPE           CLUSTER-IP      EXTERNAL-IP                                                               PORT(S)                      AGE
kong-1588254443-kong-proxy   LoadBalancer   172.20.80.126   aaf3ed74e244d46a2a902dc50bf0aff1-1281107532.us-east-2.elb.amazonaws.com   80:30808/TCP,443:30118/TCP   81m

But:

% kubectl get svc --namespace kong kong-1588254443-kong-proxy -o jsonpath='{.status.loadBalancer}'
map[ingress:[map[hostname:aaf3ed74e244d46a2a902dc50bf0aff1-1281107532.us-east-2.elb.amazonaws.com]]]%      

Look ma, no IP!

And the ELB doesn’t have any instances, either:

%  aws elb describe-load-balancers --load-balancer-name aaf3ed74e244d46a2a902dc50bf0aff1 --query 'LoadBalancerDescriptions[0].Instances'
[]

I’m not even sure if it should have instances; the EKS cluster instances don’t show up as available to add to the ELB, so it’s possible that it’s (supposed to be) working some other way.

With no IP I can’t query the proxy IP that way, but by hostname it returns nothing, because the ELB has nowhere to route traffic to:

% curl -i aaf3ed74e244d46a2a902dc50bf0aff1-1281107532.us-east-2.elb.amazonaws.com:80
curl: (52) Empty reply from server

I’m guessing I’ve got something set up wrong in our AWS networking, but I’m not sure what it is, and I can’t find anything about this situation in the Kong docs.

Thanks for any help!

That looks right. You either have a hostname or an IP.

Re: no instances registered in the ELB, that’s an issue specific to EKS.
I’ve fixed this issue several times but don’t recall the solution right now.