Kong 0.14 installation on GKE 1.14.6 fails due to missing volumes

Hi,

I am a newbie in both Kong and GCP, so sorry if I made any silly mistake.
When I try do install Kong 0.14 either from Marketplace or following the steps from Kong via Manifest Files I get the error below in kong-control-plane POD’s Container Events:

MountVolume.SetUp failed for volume “api-server-cert” : secret “kong-control-plane.kong.svc” not found

Unable to mount volumes for pod “kong-control-plane-5ccfd6574d-mbq8g_kong(1a773f89-f752-11e9-9b7a-42010a80011a)”: timeout expired waiting for volumes to attach or mount for pod “kong”/“kong-control-plane-5ccfd6574d-mbq8g”. list of unmounted volumes=[api-server-cert]. list of unattached volumes=[api-server-cert kong-token-87df9]

At the Kubernetes > Storage tab there are no such volumes:

The installation works fine on a GKE 1.13.10-gke-0.

Thank you in advance for your attention.
Souto.

1 Like

It seems like api-server-cert volume is needed in the default Deployment, you can safely remove the volume mount and then your pods will be created correctly.

1 Like

Hi Harry,

I followed your advice and removed the volume mount and the variables KONG_ADMIN_SSL_CERT and KONG_ADMIN_SSL_CERT_KEY from the kong-control-plane-postgres.yaml file, and Kong installed successfully.
Thanks!

Which feature do I miss with that?
Will this be fixed/documented it so people can install Kong seamlessly on GKE version 1.14.6 and later?

Best Regards,
Souto.

Those settings are used for the default TLS certificate used by Kong when you have no certificate defined in Kong and Kong receives an HTTPS request.

We’re in the process of deprecating Kong from the GCP marketplace and instead are going to recommend users to use our Helm chart to deploy Kong onto Kubernetes.

Hi Harry,

Without any changes on k8s or Kong, Kong stopped working with the errors below:

kong-control-plane container logs: