Can kong call into my application for routing rules?

Hello All:

I’m a kubernetes and kong newbie. So, please bear with me.

I’m trying to build an API for my services where I need to be able to dynamically proxy an incoming request to a service based on some logic that’s maintained within my application.

e.g.,

• my application has some routing logic (can be implemented either in nodejs or python) essentially a map of user -> service.
  • The routing logic (mapping) can be dynamic in nature… meaning new users and/or new services can be added at any time and this map can be changed to reflect that.

I’ve tried using the default ingress-nginx to write some rules, but, was not able to dynamically change them when new users are added.

Question:

• can kong call into my application for the routing?
    (or)
  • is there a better / alternative way of achieving such routing?

Thanks in advance,
Ram C

Possibly, but there’s not really any standard way to do it–it will depend heavily on the specifics of your application and needs. Offhand, these are the options I can think of:

• In the simplest case, you use paths that omit the dynamic component or match it using regexes. For example, if you have a path like /users/<USER_ID>/foo, you could use either /users or /users/\d+/foo to match it. The first is simpler, but doesn’t allow for as much complex logic, since you can’t use anything after the user ID as matching criteria. When using regexes, you can use more complex routing logic and expose captured path components to custom plugins.